The Bat Man

pasturetopavement

dad1It has been a muggy, hot August night here in the attic where I sleep. My bed is on the right side of the attic with a huge blanket on a clothesline rope hung right down the middle marking my territory, because my two older brothers have claimed the other side. There’s a small window by the bed, which I can’t raise, but I can see what the weather is like when I wake. The roof is what it is. There is no ceiling and I can see nails protruding down over my head. It is particularly charming in the winter when frost gathers on the nails, bringing the cold even closer. There is a little blue bureau next to my bed that my great Uncle Elmer gave my mother.

The chimney comes up through the attic a few feet from the bed and there is space around that chimney…

View original post 808 more words

Leave a Reply

